2019 Rules Discussions •
Mr. Bean, as to your Edit, I contend that if B asks A which club A used prior to B making his first stroke, and if A responds, A does not lose the hole because he has not given advice to "anyone in the competition who is playing on the course." So while B "gets away with it" so does A.Mr. Bean wrote: ↑12:53 PM - Jan 11And even worse, the 2nd player / side could simply make test strokes at the infamous par3 after the 1st player has started his round. After all, he has not yet started his round and he is allowed to practice on the competition course before commencing his round. Does not sound too equitable to me, unless I have understood something wrong.Thom wrote: ↑Nov 02, 2019My view remains, when the bell has rung, all combatants in a one on one or two on two contest should face precisely the same rules constraints and opportunities. IMO, this is equivalent to the argument used to justify different pre-game rules for stroke play and match play relating to practice. Yet that practice rule (among others) now has a distortion within match play when the first blow is struck - for example, the fourth member of the four ball match is sharpening up his short putts on the practice green next to the tee with the protection of the rules. For me (at least) that is entirely illogical and inequitable. Is it a big issue? No, there are bigger inequities. But it is a strange quirk of the Rules of Golf, IMO.
EDIT: As Doug mentioned earlier the 1st player has the opportunity to prectice on that 1st hole par3 before commencing his round as well so this practice issue may not be a big issue. However, I agree with Thom with the penalty issues. It is illogical that if player B asks Player A which club he used and if A responds he loses the hole and B gets away with it.
Furthermore, when does a match actually start? Is it only when the first 'official' stroke has been made? Or is it when it has been declared to start (by a starter, referee, players)?
statistics: Posted by Sawgrass1 — 7:00 PM - 1 day ago
