Get a Ruling •
My thoughts align with you own-- I do not have any official insight as to how the RBs may jump on this scenario .
A few further comments.
As regards 17.1d(3) /2 which is our main guide.
The language used talks of :-
" There are situations when , before the player has made a stroke, ....
............................this mistake must be corrected "
It reinforces this statement with an example where if no correction was made - the relief area would indeed be an incorrect place.
So does this imply that there are situations when the mistake need not be corrected.!!
There are many occasions where a player causally proceeds
without choosing a reference point / does not measure his relief area / and drops and plays the ball.
We know that in these instances there is no breach of the rules if the ball played is from a permitted place .
He's taking a risk as no doubt the reference point/ part of relief area may / may not have been incorrect.
Digressing a little I realise.
So I certainly at present , would not penalise this player in my scenario if he did not redrop the ball.
Should the player however be required or given that second option to change his position .
We are living , as a colleague of mine often says with the current rules - in a nanny state.
Analagous examples to my scenario:-
Correcting an initial drop / place having used a non conforming ball - several
different ways to correct.
Local rule E-12. giving the player the option to redrop or not.
There are others where the player is permitted to choose the best of two worlds.
So I would expect that the ruling bodies would say that :
a redrop or play it as it would not involve a breach of the rules ?.
Personally I would also prefer a " no drop " situation unless the ball now lies outside the proper relief area / or not dropped within such .
Regards
statistics: Posted by Chippings — 1:30 PM - Today
